Due castelli e un lago scomparso.
This itinerary takes a visit to the old town of Arrone and its 'twin town' Casteldilago.
Both towns appear clinging to two steep rocks in the valley. It is assumed that the area was once surrounded by a lake or a marsh.
The itinerary starts from Santa Maria's Church in Arrone. Going through the old town door Porta San Giovanni, it leads to the medieval part “La Terra”. The tiny streets and supporting arches of the medieval town open up to wonderful views of the surrounding mountains and to the valley crossed by the River Nera. Walking through these steep narrow medieval streets will leave the tourist immersed in an atmosphere of other times.
The itinerary continues outside the old town of Arrone along a comfortable valley road up to the village of Casteldilago. The village was built on a 6th century hermitage and boasts a marvelous view of the Lower Nera Valley. Use the same way to go back.
It was built in the 13th century and later renovated.
It has a four-gabled facade, three portals (the one in the centre dates back to 1493) and a 17th century bell tower. The three-nave interior hosts one canvas Cena in Emmaus (“Supper at Emmaus”) attributed to Calisto Calisti, Madonna del Rosario (“Our Lady of the Rosary”) by Giuseppe Bastiani in 1609 and 16th century frescoes. In the right apsis: Padre Eterno (“Eternal Father”), Madonna della Misericordia (“Our Lady of Mercy”) by Jacopo Siculo can be seen.
In the central apsis the following frescoes can be seen: Incoronazione della Vergine (“Coronation of the Virgin” ), Adorazione dei pastori (“Adoration of the Shepherds”) and Dormitio Virginis painted by Vincenzo Tamagni and Giovanni da Spoleto in 1516 (inspired by the Filippo Lippi 's paintings in Spoleto).
In the left apsis there are some 16th century terracotta.
Built between the 14th and 15th century, it was the parish church of the old medieval town in the past and stands in a panoramic position along the cliff.
It has a gabled facade, a single nave and a polygonal apsis completely painted with frescoes.
Inside on the apsis: Crocifissione (“Crucifixion” ) Madonna della quercia (“Our Lady of the Oak”), San Sebastiano (“St. Sebastian”; year 1500) can be found. On the internal part of the facade and on the left wall: figures of Santi (“Saints” ; year 1486). The masterpieces have been influenced by Filippo Lippi, who worked in Spoleto between 1467 and 1469.
It is located near the cemetery, direction Casteldilago. The church was built in the 14th century, while the monastery and the loggia between the 15th and the 16th century. In the inside inside, which is similar to San Giovanni's Church, some traces of frescoes representing San Francis' Stories can be seen.
Not far from the old town, the church boasts a bell-gabled facade, a 16th century portal and internal frescoes dating back to the 16th century painted by artists influenced by Giovanni Lo Spagna (Il Perugino's disciple). The completely painted apsis: Padre Eterno entro una mandorla e santi, Annunciazione e Madonna e sei santi (“Eternal Father in an almond and saints; Annunciation and six saints”)
On the left wall: holy figures and Madonna del Latte ( “Our lady of the Milk” ), 1522.
Many ceramic artefacts from the Middle Ages and the Renaissance have been found over the years through various refurbishment projects in the village. Among them rests: glass pieces, ceramic cookware, chamber pots, toys, stem glasses and bottle fragments. Particularly interesting are the majolicas decorated with noble families' coats of arms from the time (Families Orsini, Medici, Lauri, Clementini) made in ceramic manufactures from central Italy (Deruta, Gubbio, Spoleto, Todi, Acquapendente and Bagnoregio). The finds have been classified and are now exposed in the little museum. To book a visit call +39.0744388710, +39.3357529230
It is the old parish church of Casteldilago located on the highest part of the village. It was built on a rock and has a gabled facade (there is a 16th century fresco Madonna con Bambino “Our Lady with Child”). The original structure has been renovated and hosts several frescoes internally.