The balcony of St.Bernardin.
Montefranco stands on the top a rock mountain over the Nera Valley. The town boasts a rich history and its name is linked to Saint Bernardine of Siena, who stopped here in May 1444 , travelling to L'Aquila. He died here few days later. An evocative historical re-enactment is dedicated to the Saint.
The easy itinerary leads to the narrow streets of the old town and to the major historical buildings, allowing to enjoy a wonderful view of the Lower Nera Valley.
San Pietro’s Church is a small building built in 1753 standing between the houses of the town and its entrance is on the side. Inside there is a wooden choir and one canvas over the altar: Immacolata e santi (“Immaculate and Saints”) painted by Stefano Pozzi.
The door was built on the perimetral defensive wall of the town. On the internal facade a 16th century fresco : Madonna tra San Francesco e San Bernardino ( “Our Lady between St. Francis and St. Bernardine”). Not far from the door there is an epigraph commemorating the place where St. Bernardine of Siena stayed in 1444 during his journey.
The other door used to enter the town is Porta Franca.
Santa Maria Assunta's Parish Church is a modern church built on the remains of an older church, whose parts can still be observed in the external walls.
The single-nave church has a simple gabled-structure and an elegant bell tower dating back to the 18th century. The building is located near the cemetery, not far from the town of Montefranco. Inside 17th century altars and frescoes, together with the 16th century Ascensione (“Ascension”) can still be seen today.